How Does Your Media Product Represent Particular Social Groups?

Posted on

The social group that my magazine was aimed was predominantly ABC1, aged 16-24. The music that appears in my music magazine is portrayed to be mainstream yet more sophisticated, as was the intentions behind all other conventions of my magazine. The clothing and iconography of my music magazines is representative of the social group I am attempting to appeal to.

The connotations that the above photo carries are those of success and formality. The suit indicates that the model is formal and intelligent, which relates to the addressed audience. Other aspects, such as the hairstyle and stance represent that he’s not a hip-hop artist or a classical musician, but perhaps maybe a jazz musician or swing singer – which are the types of music that are perhaps listened to by an audience of a higher class.

Comparing this image above to a copy of Esquire (above)

About shaunanigans

I'll let you know when I know.

Leave a comment